The Welsh Gull

Torquay United, the Football League and other stuff

2010 World Cup Squads – Switzerland

leave a comment »

The Swiss were eliminated 4 years ago without conceding a goal, losing on penalties to Ukraine in the Second Round, but their performances on home soil in Euro 2008 were disappointing. The core of the side remains the same, centring around veteran striker Alexander Frei, who played only a few minutes in Euro 2008 after being injured in the first game. At 30, this time is probably his last chance to make an impact on the world stage. He is in charge of a task Swiss teams have never really been particularly good at – scoring goals.

The defence, as you might expect, is the heart of the team. Philippe Senderos, who made few appearances for Everton this year, has been ever-present in qualifying, alongside the experienced Christoph Spycher. West Ham’s Valon Behrami and Bayer Leverkusen’s Tranquillo Barnetta provide attacking impetus from midfield, and there is another call up for veteran midfielder Hakan Yakin, making this his fourth international tournament in a row. Another distinctive figure is 6 ft 5 striker Marco Streller, although Seattle Sounders’ Blaise Nkufo has been prefered in qualifying alongside Frei.

The biggest question for this time is over whether or not they can get out of their group. Despite holding France 4 years ago to a 0-0 draw, we can assume that Spain will top the group, so it is between them, Honduras and Chile for that 2nd spot. It will not be easy – they don’t quite seem to be the same team they were 4 years ago, and their rivals are unknown quantities. If they can keep it tight as they did in the last World Cup and not concede many goals, they could advance, but don’t expect them to go any further than Round 2 this time.

1. Diego Benaglio (Gk)
2. Stephan Lichtsteiner (Def)
3. Reto Ziegler (Def)
4. Philippe Senderos (Def)
5. Steve von Bergen (Def)
6. Benjamin Huggel (Mid)
7. Tranquillo Barnetta (Mid)
8. Gokhan Inler (Mid)
9. Alexander Frei (captain) (For)
10. Blaise Nkufo (For)
11. Valon Behrami (Mid)
12. Marco Wolfli (Gk)
13. Stephane Grichting (Def)
14. Marco Padalino (Mid)
15. Hakan Yakin (Mid)
16. Gelson Fernandes (Mid)
17. Christoph Spycher (Def)
18. Marco Streller (For)
19. Eren Derdiyok (For)
20. Pirmin Schwegler (Mid)
21. Johnny Leoni (Gk)
22. Mario Eggimann (Def)
23. Xherdan Shaqiri (Mid)


Written by James Bennett

May 13, 2010 at 08:52

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: